Let’s Get Physical

I have been making an effort to exercise more. I know I need to do this in order to achieve and maintain a healthy body weight. It has been years since I have been at that healthy weight, but I am on my way!

It is embarrassing for me to be overweight and out of shape. I am not embarrassed in a public sort of way where I care what others think. I am embarrassed in a more personal way. I spent 4 years at university learning about exercise and the human body. I graduated with a BSc. in Kinesiology. For years I worked helping others become more physically fit.

Somewhere along the way I lost my passion. I think I got disheartened with how little our government and the general population cared. At this point it is important to note that I have never been one of those ripped super athletes. I have always had a little chub and never really cared for working out so hard I vomit.

Recently out government has come out with new physical activity guidelines. For adults, there has been a reduction in the recommended minimum time spent doing physical activity. However, the recommendations are more specific with regard to intensity, among other things. If you want to take a look at the guidelines you can find them here:

http://www.csep.ca/CMFiles/Guidelines/CSEP-InfoSheets-adults-ENG.pdf

Also of note, is the change in the time recommendation for children, to 60 minutes a day. You can find the guidelines here:

http://www.csep.ca/CMFiles/Guidelines/CSEP-InfoSheets-child-ENG.pdf

In an effort to improve my fitness I have been spending 30 minutes with my wii fit every night. Miss K loves to join in. Last night I skipped my workout and she was very upset with me. She even called me on it this morning. Gotta love having your very own personal trainer.

2 thoughts on “Let’s Get Physical

  1. Great post! I can relate! I have a major soap box for “strength training”, since I am a physical therapist who sees those with osteoporosis. And, this week, I didn’t lift a thing (except, too many cookies!) I will check out the links… I love that stuff!! (I am CSCS certified, too… but not a Kinesiology major!)
    Good luck with your goals!

Leave a Reply

